The American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS) said that E. Lynn Usery of the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) won an election to become ASPRS vice president and geospatial professional Pierre le Roux has been elected assistant director of the primary data acquisition division.

They join Stephen D. DeGloria (president), Stewart Walker (president-elect) and Roberta (Bobbi) Lenczowski (past president).

Usery is a research physical scientist and director of the Center of Excellence for Geospatial Information Science (CEGIS) with the USGS. He worked as a cartographer and geographer for the USGS and was a professor of geography at the University of Wisconsin and the University of Georgia, where he taught and conducted research in remote sensing, cartography, and geographic information systems (GIS) and led the establishment of undergraduate and graduate certificates in GIS. 

He returned to the USGS in 1999 and established a program of cartographic and geographic information science (GIScience) research that evolved into CEGIS. Usery also teaches remote sensing at the Missouri University of Science and Technology.

Le Roux has gained hands-on experience with applied photogrammetry and remote sensing across a wide application spectrum in both developing and developed economies.

Most recently, he supported the Deepwater Horizon oil spill response as lead integrated intelligence, surveillance, remote sensing, geospatial intelligence management advisor. He provided consulting and leadership on the selection, acquisition, coordination and deployment of surveillance, GIS and remote sensing technologies, as well as the ISR tasking, collection, production, exploitation and dissemination (TCPED) activities during the spill response.