URISA recognized several members at the GIS-Pro 2013 in Providence, R.I., last month.

Barry Wellar and Cy Smith received the URISA Leadership Award. Wellar, who received the award in 1978, became the first repeat winner. He was honored for efforts leading the publication of “Foundations of Urban and Regional Information Systems and Geographic Information Systems and Science,” a book made to celebrate URISA’s 50th anniversary conference in 2012. Smith was recognized for serving URISA in numerous leadership capacities, including terms on the board of directors and as URISA president. He was instrumental in the founding of the Coalition of Geospatial Organizations.

Al Little, a longtime conference committee member and chair of GIS-Pro2013, and the original members of the URISA Vanguard Cabinet Steering Committee (Clare Brown, Amy Esnard and Hilary Perkins) received the URISA Service Award.

Ann Bishopp and the URISA Chapter Affiliation Negotiating Committee (Cy Smith, Al Butler, Carl Anderson, Tripp Corbin, Teresa Townsend, Amy Esnard, Paul Caris, Colin Gowens, Luke Boggess and Sandra Crutcher) received the Barbara Hirsch Special Service Award. Bishopp is the recently retired accounting manager for URISA.

The URISA New England Chapter received the Outstanding Chapter Award.

Watch the awards ceremony online.