BETHESDA, Md. – The American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS) announced the following 2013 Outstanding Service Award Winners:
  • Mike Renslow, for his service as editor‐in‐chief of the LiDAR Manual, his efforts to achieve accreditation for the ASPRS Certification Program and his service as ISPRS Treasurer, 2009 – 2012.

  • The Guidelines for Procurement of Commercial Geospatial Mapping Products Committee, Charles Mondello, chair; and committee members Mark Baker, Becky Morton, Marvin Miller, Brant Howard, Kari Craun, George Southard, Jeff Lovin, Mike Ritchie and Paul Harwig for their efforts to develop the draft guidelines.

  • Chris McGlone for his service as editor‐in‐chief of the Manual of Photogrammetry, 6th Edition.

  • George Y. G. Lee for his service as technical editor of the Manual of Photogrammetry, 6th Edition and his efforts to fully endow the Francis H. Moffitt Memorial Scholarship.

The ASPRS Outstanding Service Award was established in 1991. It is given to society members in recognition of outstanding and unusual efforts in helping ASPRS develop and carry out its program over a sustained period. Recipients have performed outstanding service at the chapter, regional or national level. Awardees’ services include any activities, including professional, that have helped the society achieve its goals and objectives.

The award consists of a bronze plaque. These awards were presented in March at the 2013 Annual ASPRS Conference in Baltimore.