Christian Heipke Winner of Photogrammetric (Fairchild) Award

The 2013 Photogrammetric Award (Fairchild) was awarded to Prof. Dr. Christian Heipke at the 2013 Annual ASPRS Conference in Baltimore on March 26. Heipke was awarded the Photogrammetric (Fairchild) Award for his contributions including advancing the transition from analytical to digital photogrammetry, significant achievements in object extraction from digital imagery and image matching, progressing the introduction of softcopy systems and, more recently, helping to reinforce the essential connection between photogrammetry and computer vision. Heipke has been Professor Habilitation (the highest academic qualification given overseas) since 1994, and has been a full professor and the head of the Institute of Photogrammetry and GeoInformation at the Leibniz University Hannover since 1998.

This award is designed to stimulate the development of the art of aerial photogrammetry in the United States. The selection committee makes its choice based on an outstanding invention or design involving any type of equipment that applies to the art of aerial photogrammetry; any outstanding method developed for the general use of aerial photographs and/or imagery; outstanding research for study along aerial photogrammetric lines and outstanding effort for the general advancement of the art of photogrammetry. Lockheed Martin donates funding for the award, which consists of a silver presentation plaque.

Clive Fraser Winner of Outstanding Technical Achievement Award

This year’s recipient of the Outstanding Technical Achievement Award is Dr. Clive Fraser, for his development and production of the digital camera calibration program "Australis." The Australis automatic camera calibration system was developed to accommodate contemporary calibration requirements and is a software system for digital camera self-calibration that incorporates an innovative workflow for improved efficiency and effectiveness. The significant features of Australis are efficiency, flexibility, automation and calibration to the highest metric standards. Fraser serves as honorary professor of Infrastructure Engineering, program science director, Cooperative Research Center for Spatial Information and professional fellow, Department of Infrastructure Engineering, University of Melbourne, Australia.

This award was introduced for the first time in 2012 and is given to a developer of a specific breakthrough technology which causes quantum advances in the practice of photogrammetry, remote sensing or geographic information systems in the United States. Dr. Fraser received the award in March at the ASPRS 2013 Annual Conference in Baltimore.

Additional awards made during the ASPRS 79th Annual Conference and administered by the ASPRS Foundation were:

Outstanding Paper Awards BAE Systems Award for Best Student Paper Winner: Min Chen for “Robust Affine-invariant Lines Matching for High Resolution Remote Sensing Image”, Wuhan University, Wuhan, Hubei, China

Boeing Award for Best Paper in Image Analysis and Interpretation Winners: Jan Svejkovsky, W. Lehr, Judd Muskat, George Graettinger and Joseph Mullin for “Operational Utilization of Aerial Multispectral Remote Sensing during Oil Spill Response: Lessons Learned During the Deepwater Horizon (MC-252) Spill,” PE&RS, 78 (10), 1089-1102.

John I. Davidson President’s Award for Practical Papers First Place Winners:Mark R. Shortis and G. Burgess for “Photogrammetric Monitoring of the Construction of a Solar Energy Dish Concentrator,” PE&RS, 78 (5) 519-527.

ERDAS Award for Best Scientific Paper in Remote Sensing First Place Winners:Caiyun Zhang and Fang Qiu for “Mapping Individual Tree Species in an Urban Forest Using Airborne LiDAR Data and Hyperspectral Imagery,” PE&RS, 78 (10), 1079-1087.

ESRI Award for Best Scientific Paper in GIS First Place Winners:Yurai Nunez-Rodriguez, Michael A. Johnson, Igor Raskin, and Jesse L. Thé for "Computing Non-Crossing Smooth Contours on Triangulated Meshes," PE&RS, 78 (7), 703-714.

Talbert Abrams Award Grand Award Winners:Craig Glennie for "Calibration and Kinematic Analysis of the Velodyne HDL-64E S2 LiDAR Sensor," PE&RS, 78 (4), 339-347.

Scholarship & Academic Awards Robert E. Altenhofen Memorial Scholarship Winner:Hui Ju, doctoral candidate at the Ohio State University, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Geodetic Science, with a specialization in photogrammetry.

Abraham Anson Memorial Scholarship Winner: Colin Axel, Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT), Rochester, N.Y.

John O. Behrens Institute for Land Information Memorial Scholarship Winner: Benjamin Adams, Ferris State University, Big Rapids, Mich.

Robert N. Colwell Memorial Fellowship Winner:Xaiolin Zhu, PhD candidate in the Department of Geography at The Ohio State University

William A. Fischer Memorial Scholarship Winner: Matthew D. Cross, PhD student, College of Engineering and Applied Science, University of Denver, Denver

GeoEye Foundation Award Winner:Sergey Reid, student in the Geographic Information Science program, Texas A&M, Corpus-Christi, Texas

Francis H. Moffitt Memorial Scholarship Winner:Andreas Torsvik, student in Geomatics Engineering, California State (Fresno), Fresno, Calif.

Kenneth J. Osborn Memorial Scholarship Winner: Kerri J. Crowder, student in Geography (geographic information systems emphasis), University of Alaska at Fairbanks (UAF), Fairbanks, Alaska

Ta Liang Memorial Award Winner:Nishan Bhattarai, PhD student, State University of New York, College of Environmental Science and Forestry, Albany, N.Y.

Z/I Imaging Award Winner: Sergio Bernardes, PhD student in Geography, Certification in Geographic Information Systems, University of Georgia, Athens, Ga.

International Educational Literature Award (IELA) Winner: Kyrgyz State University of Construction, Transport and Architecture (KSUCTA), Department of Geodesy and Geoinformatics, Kyrgyzstan

Conference Management Awards Recipients:conference co-directors John S. Iiames, Jr. and David L. Szymanski, and conference technical program co-directors David M. Johnson and Claire G. Boryan

Presidential Citations Recipients: Gary Florence, Eric Andelin, Adam R. Benjamin, Steve DeGloria, Don Lauer, Carolyn Merry, Kim Tilley and Billie Plasker