Dale Swygert

The South Carolina Society of Professional Land Surveyors recently honored Dale C. Swygert, of Gilbert, S.C., by selecting him South Carolina “Surveyor of the Year” for 2011. Mr. Swygert was presented with this honor at the Society’s Annual Convention on June 11, 2011 at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa Hotel in Hilton Head, South Carolina. The Surveyor of the Year Award is presented annually by the Society to a surveyor who has made outstanding contributions to the profession of land surveying in the State of South Carolina.

Mr. Swygert graduated from Midlands Technical College in 1979 with an Associate Degree in Civil Engineering Technology/Surveying. He worked with Shull & Caughman in Lexington after graduation and has been a Project Manager/Surveyor with Survey & Mapping Services, Inc. in West Columbia since that time. He attained his South Carolina Professional Surveyor’s license in 1984. Mr. Swygert is currently serving as President of SCSPLS where he also has served as President Elect in 2009-10, Vice President in 2008-09 and 1999-2000, Treasurer in 2001-2003 and Secretary in 1998-99. Dale has also served as Chairman of Website Committee of SCSPLS, and served on many committees. He has served as President of the Midlands Chapter and has previously been elected as the chapter Surveyor of the Year. He has been involved in his community as a member, President and Treasurer of the Hollow Creek Community Club. He attends St. Paul’s Lutheran Church where he has been the Financial Secretary, a Sunday School Teacher and Youth Leader for many years. His hobbies include geocaching, camping and NASCAR. He and his wife, Charlotte, reside in Gilbert and have one son, Joshua who is graduated from USC in June. Dale has shown exemplary leadership and unselfish giving to the profession of land surveying.

Benjamin B. Christensen of Aiken, SC, was elected President of the South Carolina Society of Professional Land Surveyors at their annual convention held in June at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa Hotel in Hilton Head, SC. Mr. Christensen will serve as President for the July 1, 2011 – June 30, 2012 fiscal year.

Ben owns Christensen Land Co., Inc., in Aiken, S.C. Graduating from the University of South Carolina - Aiken with a degree in Business Administration, Mr. Christensen has worked in a wide variety of fields, including farming, restaurant management, and banking before finding the joys of land surveying. He has been working in the surveying business since 1984 and attained his license in 1999. He has previously served on the SCSPLS Board of Directors as SCSPLS President, President-Elect, Vice President and Treasurer; and served as Chairman of several SCSPLS Committees. He is a member of the Aiken Chapter of SCSPLS, serves on the Aiken County Board of Voter Registration and Election Commission and attends All Saints Anglican Church. Ben and his wife, Lois, reside in Aiken.

The SCSPLS also installed officers for the 2011-2012 Board of Directors as follows:

President-Elect: Kent C. Hudson of Rock Hill, SC
Vice President: Aaron F. Leach of Myrtle Beach, SC
Secretary: Dennis V. Clinkscales of Boiling Spring, SC
Treasurer: Frankie Manhardt of Eutawville, SC
Immediate Past President: Dale C. Swygert of Gilbert, SC
NSPS Governor: Henry B. Dingle of Lexington, SC

District 1 Director: Charles F. Dawley, Jr. of Mt. Pleasant, SC
District 2 Director: Dennis G. Johns of Lexington, SC
District 3 Director: Thomas B. Abraham of Newberry, SC