The American Council of Engineering Companies of Illinois (ACEC-IL) conducts an annual scholarship program which provided thirteen (13) $1,500 Named Scholarships for the fall 2008 school year. These Named Scholarships are graciously sponsored by ACEC-IL Member Firms. In addition, the top Named Scholarship winner also receives the $2500 Lonnie H. Carter Memorial Scholarship and advances to compete at the national level. See 2008 Scholarship results, (Acrobat Reader required)

At the state level, a Committee of ACEC-IL Volunteer Members (Consulting Engineers and Principals of their firms) evaluate applications and select the ACEC-IL scholarship award winners. Information submitted on the application includes the student's GPA; Work Experience; Extracurricular College Activities; Recommendation from a Professor, Consulting Engineer or Land Surveyor; and an Essay.

The 2009 competition will be open to Illinois engineering students currently enrolled and pursuing a Bachelor's, Master's or PhD Degree in an Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET)-accredited engineering program or in an accredited land surveying program located in the state of Illinois. Students must be entering their Junior, Senior, Fifth, Master's or Graduate year in the Fall of 2009. To qualify, you must be a U.S. citizen. Click here to search ABET Accredited Programs,

For more information go to