Not everyone observes daylight saving time. Check to see if your state is exempt.

Americans will return to standard time at 2 a.m. Oct. 28. Clocks will be set back one hour, which will provide an additional hour of daylight in the morning. It is also a good time to change the batteries in smoke detectors.

Under law, daylight saving time is observed from the first Sunday in April to the last Sunday in October. The United States will return to daylight saving time on April 7, 2002. Federal law doesn’t require any area to observe daylight saving time, but if a state chooses to observe it, the state must follow the starting and ending dates set by law. Arizona, Hawaii, the portion of Indiana located in the Eastern time zone, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Guam and the Northern Marianas do not observe daylight saving time.