In July 2003, EuroGeographics, the association of European national Mapping Agencies, launched the first release of EuroGlobalMap dataset. EuroGlobalMap is the digital topographic dataset that covers Europe at the scale 1:1 Million. It is seamless and harmonised data and is produced in cooperation by the National Mapping Agencies of Europe, using official national databases. The production of the dataset was co-funded by the European Commission (eContent).

EuroGlobalMap contains six themes: Administrative boundaries, Hydrography, Transport, Settlements, Elevation and Named location (geographical names). The dataset will be licensed on annual subscription basis. It is also available for evaluation.

The first release covers 30 European countries - Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Great Britain, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, Northern Ireland, Portugal, San Marino, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The Netherlands and Vatican. The coverage will gradually be extended to cover the whole of Europe.

EuroGlobalMap is ideal for a range of uses including planning, monitoring and presenting environmental policies, marketing planning, network analysis and as a background for displaying information.