Recipients have performed outstanding and unusual efforts in helping ASPRS develop and carry out its programs over a sustained period.

Established in 1991, The Outstanding Service Award is given to American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS) members in recognition of outstanding and unusual efforts in helping ASPRS develop and carry out its programs over a sustained period. Recipients have performed outstanding service at the chapter, regional, or national level. Awardees’ services include any activities, including professional, that have helped the Society achieve its goals and objectives.

Those selected for the 2003 ASPRS Outstanding Service Award are:

    ASPRS Sustaining Member Companies
  • SAIC, Inc. for their sponsorship of the Estes Memorial Teaching Award
  • AERO-METRIC, Inc. for their initial sponsorship of the Paul R. Wolf Scholarship

    ASPRS Members

  • Allen Watkins for his efforts to make the SAIC Estes Memorial Teaching Award a financial reality
  • Bernard (Barney) Schur for his vision and effort in making the Paul R. Wolf Scholarship a reality
  • Mary Clawson for her leadership of many ASPRS sponsored or co-sponsored conferences, and, specifically, for the outstanding 2002 XXII FIG International Congress and combined ACSM-ASPRS Conference and Technology Exhibit
  • Sky Chamard for his many years of dedicated service to the ASPRS Certification Program

ASPRS Executive Director James R. Plasker said, “We are fortunate to have both sustaining member companies and individual employees of those firms who have stepped up to organize and sponsor awards in the memories of two very prominent and important leaders in our field – Jack Estes and Paul Wolf. This is the first year that these awards will be given and ASPRS is proud to be able to honor Dr. Estes and Dr. Wolf in this way.”

Plasker also commended Sky Chamard for his dedication to the ASPRS Certification Program from its inception in the 1970s. “For more than 20 years Sky has been a major factor in the success of the ASPRS Certification Program,” Plasker said. “He has developed and guided the program so that it is recognized internationally as an invaluable professional asset, and for that the Society is grateful.”

Mary Clawson is being recognized for her role as the 2002 FIG congress director. “Mary is a consummate professional with outstanding conference management skills, and her ability to coordinate the diverse and disparate needs of the many participating organizations was key to organizing a highly successful event in 2002,” said Plasker.

These awards will be given at the ASPRS 14th Annual Awards Luncheon on Thursday, May 8 during the ASPRS 2003 Annual Conference in Anchorage, Alaska.