The American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) held its Annual Conference and Exposition in Nashville, Tenn., Nov. 12 - 15, at the Gaylord Opryland Resort and Convention Center. The program focused on critical issues facing the engineering community, including professional qualifications, using modern technology in natural disaster mitigation and management, and the profession's role in evaluating and addressing infrastructure needs. Engineers, academics, students and other professionals participated in over 60 technical, professional, business and leadership sessions during the week-long event.

During the conference numerous awards were presented, including the newest National Historic Civil Engineering Landmark and the prestigious Hoover Medal.

Barry K. Thacker, P.E., president of the Coal Creek Watershed Foundation, Inc., and Geo/Environmental Associates, joined a distinguished group of recipients that includes three former U.S. Presidents, when he was honored with the 61st Hoover Medal for his public service and enduring contributions to humanity.

- The Tennessee State Capitol joined nearly 300 civil engineering marvels including the Golden Gate Bridge, the Hoover Dam and the Panama Canal, as a National Historic Civil Engineering Achievement.

- George J. Tamaro, P.E., H.ASCE, a partner in Mueser Rutledge Consulting Engineers, a New York firm specializing in geotechnical and foundation engineering, and underground and waterfront structure design, was awarded the 2003 Edmund Friedman Professional Recognition Award in recognition of his work in the advancement of science and professionalism in engineering.

- John W. Keys, P.E., F.ASCE, commissioner of the Bureau of Reclamation, was awarded the 2003 Civil Government Award in recognition of his meritorious service in an elective or appointive government position.

- Robert C. Williams, P.E., F.ASCE, DEE, chief engineer of the U.S. Public Health Service Corps (USPHS) and division director of the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry's (ATSDR) Division of Health Assessment, was awarded the 2003 Government Civil Engineer of the Year Award in recognition of his distinguished career in public service, and for his significant contributions to the engineering profession.

- Richard D. Fox, P.E., DEE, president of Camp Dresser & McKee, Inc. (CDM), a Cambridge, Mass., firm specializing global consulting, engineering, construction and operation, was awarded the 2003 John I. Parcel - Leif J. Sverdrup Award in recognition of his professional integrity and definite contributions in the field of civil engineering management.

- Mark Schleifstein and John McQuaid, reporters for The Times-Picayune, were honored with the 2003 Excellence in Journalism Award for their coverage of the potentially catastrophic effect that hurricane floods could have on Louisiana's eroding coastline and the necessity of engineering solutions in rebuilding and restoration plans.

Also during the conference, nine ASCE members were bestowed with Honorary Memberships for their acknowledged eminence in a branch of engineering or in the related arts and sciences.

- E. Walter LeFevre, P.E., C.Eng., Ph.D, senior vice president and principal in the Springdale, Arkansas consulting firm Engineering Services, Inc., and founding director of the Mack-Blackwell National Rural Transportation Study Center, for his extensive contributions to engineering education and practice, accreditation of engineering programs, and leadership of engineering professional organizations.

- Wilson H. Tang, P.E., Ph.D., professor of civil engineering, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, for his significant contributions to the safety and reliability analysis of civil engineering systems, with emphasis on applications to geotechnical systems.

- Robert Thorn, partner in Finney & Turnipseed, Transportation & Civil Engineering, LLP, Topeka, Kan., for his outstanding contributions and 51-year career as an inspiring leader in civil engineering bridge design, and for his commitment to and involvement in civil engineering education.

- Rear Adm. Jack E. Buffington, CEC, U.S. Navy, retired, research professor of civil engineering for the University of Arkansas, and associate director of the Mack-Blackwell National Rural Transportation Study Center, for his leadership in the United States Navy in the environmentally sustainable design, construction, operation and maintenance of public works and defense facilities.

- Ken P. Chong, Ph.D., P.E., F.ASCE, Director of Mechanics and Materials and Directorate of Engineering for the Nationals Science Foundation (NSF), for his vision and leadership in supporting structures, mechanics, materials and nanotechnology research in civil engineering, and for his research contributions in brittle fracture mechanics and architectural sandwich panels.

- Philip Burgi, P.E., a private hydraulic and water resources engineering consultant, for his extensive research contributions to the field of hydraulics and water resources engineering and his leadership in the creation of ASCE's Environmental and Water Resources Institute (EWRI).

- Conrad G. Keyes, Jr., ScD, P.E., P.S., M.ASCE, H.ASCE, F.NSPE, professor and department head emeritus for the Civil, Agricultural and Geological Engineering Department of New Mexico State University (NMSU), for his significant contributions to the advancement of irrigation and water resources engineering; atmospheric water management; and his teaching, research and professional service career in the arid Southwest.

- Arthur R. McDaniel, P.E., F.ASCE, consultant with T.Y. Lin International, for his great contributions and innovative design concepts in the field of bridge engineering, for founding one of the largest and most respected bridge engineering firms in Calif., and for his lifelong advocacy of the civil engineering profession.

- George J. Tamaro, P.E., H.ASCE, a partner in Mueser Rutledge Consulting Engineers, a New York firm specializing in geotechnical and foundation engineering, and underground and waterfront structure design, for his distinguished service in the design of unique and innovative below ground earth retaining systems.