The Federal Aviation Administration has restricted flights over seven Department of Energy facilities citing national security concerns. The sites are: Idaho National Laboratory, Idaho Falls, ID; Pantex Site, Panhandle, TX; Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, N.M.; Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tenn.; Savannah River National Laboratory, Aiken, S.C.; and Y-12 National Security Site, Oak Ridge, Tenn.

The FAA said, “The FAA, under 14 CFR § 99.7 — Special Security Instructions (SSI), has prohibited all UAS flights within the airspace defined under UAS NOTAM FDC 7/7282. The restrictions extend from the ground up to 400 feet AGL, apply to all types and purposes of UAS flight operations, and remain in effect 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.”