Latest Headlines

2008 ESRI Best Scientific Paper Award Winners Announced by ASPRS

The ASPRS ESRI Award Selection Committee announced the winners of this year’s ESRI Award for Best Scientific Paper in GIS.  


The ASPRS ESRI Award Selection Committee announced the winners of this year’s ESRI Award for Best Scientific Paper in GIS.  
·      First Place was awarded to Rongxing Li, Kaichang Di, Jue Wang, Xutong Niu, Sanchit Agarwal, Evgenia Brodyagina, Erik Oberg and Ju Won Hwangbo, for “A WebGIS for Spatial Data Processing, Analysis, and Distribution for the MER 2003 Mission,” PE&RS, 73 (6), 671-680. 

·      The Second Place winners were Rifaat Abdalla, C. Vincent Tao, Qiuming Cheng, and Jonathan Li for “A Network-centric Modeling Approach for Infrastructure Interdependency,” PE&RS, 73 (6), 681-690.

·      Third Place was given to Pravara Thanapura, Dennis L. Helder, Suzette Burckhard, Eric Warmath, Mary O' Neill, and Dwight Galster for “Mapping Urban Land Cover Using Quickbird NDVI and GIS Spatial Modeling for Runoff Coefficient Determination,” PE&RS, 73 (1), 57-66.
Presentation of the awards will take place in May during the ASPRS 2008 Annual Conference in Portland, Oregon. This Award is presented by the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS) through the ASPRS Foundation, with funding provided by a grant from ESRI. The purpose of the Award is to encourage and commend those who publish papers of scientific merit in the advancement of knowledge about Geographic Information Systems (GIS).  The First Place winners are awarded a certificate and $500; Second Place winners receive a certificate and $300 and Third Place winners are given a certificate and $200.
Factors considered by the Committee in making its selections are the scientific contributions that the papers make toward the advancement of knowledge about Geographic Information Systems. The Awards are made to individuals whose articles were published in the ASPRS journal, Photogrammetric Engineering and Remote Sensing (PE&RS), during the calendar year preceding the year of the Award presentation.  The recipients of the Awards are elected by secret ballot of the Committee, with a simple majority determining the result.

Did you enjoy this article? Click here to subscribe to POB.

You must login or register in order to post a comment.



Image Galleries

HxGN Live

More than 3,500 attendees from more than 70 countries attended HxGN Live, the annual Hexagon AB user conference, at the MGM Grand Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas on June 3-6. About 450 keynotes and panel discussions were held, and several companies from around the world exhibited their geospatial products. Here are a few snapshots from the event.


POB May 2015 Cover

2015 May

In this May 2015 issue of POB, we take a look at the keynote on technology in the information age given by Andy Lowery, DAQRI CEO, at this year's SPAR International.

Table Of Contents Subscribe


Surveyors, with the weather finally starting to improve everywhere, are you thinking about the long days to come? This summer, you are going to …
View Results Poll Archive

Point of Beginning Store

M:\General Shared\__AEC Store Katie Z\AEC Store\Images\POB\epubsite\Statues-pic-large.gif

The perfect gift or award for any special occasion.

More Products

Clear Seas Research

Clear Seas ResearchWith access to over one million professionals and more than 60 industry-specific publications, Clear Seas Research offers relevant insights from those who know your industry best. Let us customize a market research solution that exceeds your marketing goals.


Facebook logo Twitter logo  LinkedIn logo  YouTube logoRPLS small logo

Google +

Geo Locator

Buyers Guide

The #1 buyers' guide for land surveyors and geomatics professionals. Search listings for software and equipment manufacturers, equipment dealers and professional services. CLICK HERE to view GeoLocator.